Nevada DMV discusses fees and penalties for registering an expired car | News


LAS VEGAS (FOX5) – FOX5 has heard from many frustrated Nevadans about people driving with expired car tags. The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles just spoke about the cost of deregistration.

Anyone who registers a late vehicle must pay a registration fee of $ 6.00 per month. The DMV has said it should also pay what is known as a government service tax late fee. The minimum charge is $ 6. It goes up from there and is based on the value of a driver’s car.

If someone paid $ 150 to register their car and then let it expire for a year, they would have to pay $ 150 for the year it expired and $ 150 for the following year.

DMV Public Information Officer Brett Fisher said there had been extensions of car registration and driver’s license renewals during the height of the Covid pandemic, but there were none. see you now.

“The message is twofold. First, there is no grace period for late registrations. One message is, make your registration pay on time so you don’t have to pay late fees,” said Fisher.

A Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) location in Las Vegas on June 23, 2020.

Fisher said drivers moving to Nevada have 30 days to register their cars.

Fisher also said the fees charged for late check-in go to the state’s highway fund. He says some of that money is used for state and local projects to repair and build new roads.


Comments are closed.